Red Pill Rhymes: Centerfold

I heard this song the other day, and it took me back. I think I was about 13 when this song was huge (great album, too), and the big-haired, sweater-wearing girls in the video are still exquisite. It also happens to be an example of the red-pill truths that I somehow missed on my way to becoming a pedestalizing White Knight, even while singing along to them:

She was pure like snowflakes
No one could ever stain
The memory of my angel
Could never cause me pain

Years go by I’m lookin’
Through a girly magazine
And there’s my homeroom angel
On the pages in-between

How did I not realize he was talking about my angel?

But more interestingly, it touches on a topic that comes up now and then in these parts: the idea that men prefer a woman with sexual experience. It’s always been my contention that that’s false. Except for the rare cuckold fetishist, men want unspoiled women. What happens is this: a guy meets a woman and falls in love with her, then finds out she’s had about ten times the amount of cock that he was guessing, but it’s too late, he’s hooked. So he rationalizes it away by telling himself that it shows she likes sex and isn’t shy about it, so at least he won’t have to wait too long and should get plenty. That doesn’t mean he wouldn’t prefer her to be a virgin, but he’s not willing to move on, so he’s looking for the silver lining.

The song describes that perfectly. When the guy first sees his “homeroom angel” in the girly magazine, he’s shocked and horrified.  But after thinking about it a while, he finds the upside:

I hope that when this issue’s gone
I’ll see you when your clothes are on

Take your car, yes we will
We’ll take your car and drive it
We’ll take it to a motel room
And take ’em off in private

So he’s thinking, “Hey, she took her clothes off for millions of magazine buyers, so she’ll get naked for anyone, including me.”  Before, he thought she was a good girl; now he thinks all he has to do is say the word and she’ll disrobe and jump him. Unfortunately for him, that’s probably not true at all. Sluts can be the biggest prudes ever when they aren’t attracted to a guy, and their defensiveness over their slutty acts only adds to that. If he was the nice guy who did her homework for her in school, he’s the last guy she would ever get naked for. Even the knowledge that he saw the centerfold would creep her out in a way that millions of strange guys seeing it didn’t.

So the lesson, guys: Your “homeroom angel” is really a devil, but that doesn’t mean she’ll be a devil for you.  It doesn’t matter where she falls on the virgin-to-slut scale — if you want to see her naked in person, you have to be the guy she finds attractive.

6 thoughts on “Red Pill Rhymes: Centerfold

  1. The thing is, with songs and other RP hints like this, they aren’t all that useful by themselves. Knowledge of “Red Pill Truths” in isolation doesn’t really help you. I mean, knowing what hypergamy is great and all. But unless you also know about female attraction triggers, and the importance of attraction, and what turns women off, etc. , it won’t get you very far. That, I think, is the biggest impediment with the Red Pill out there. You cannot dribble it out and have it make an impact- it requires the full package to really transform your worldview.

  2. I have to agree that the idea of wanting a sexually experienced woman for a LTR/wife is laughable. Consider the Madonna/Whore question. Some people say that men want both in the same woman. I know I don’t. I want them completely separate, which is why I wouldn’t have a problem with a man having wife and mistress if he can work it out. But I’d still want them both to be as low mileage as possible.

    Was watching the Joan Crawford/Clark Gable movie Possessed last night. She plays a factory girl who he picks up and polishes into a very classy mistress. He was divorced and gun shy about getting married again so he wouldn’t marry her, but they pretended she was well-off divorcee so that she had status and social position and wasn’t just his kept-woman. Only made it halfway through, but it looked like a great setup to me. I’m sure he married her in the end.

    BTW, Joan Crawford was HOT in1931.

  3. Donalgraeme, good point. The female imperative is presented as a complete ideology, interwoven through the law, school teachings, media, stories, and social mores today. The red pill comes in bits and pieces here and there. Individual instances stand out when you know to look for them, but otherwise they get swallowed up by the FI.

    Some boys do seem to just “get it” from a young age. I’d guess that’s a combination of innate nature and upbringing, but most boys need someone (a man) to point the truths out to them and tie them together into a coherent whole. At least, they need someone to tell them that those bits and pieces aren’t just someone’s fantasy, but actually a different way of looking at things that just might be worth considering. Otherwise it’s too easy for him to shrug and say to himself, “Well, if you’re a rock star, sure, but I’m not, so I’ll have to keep being a Nice Guy and wait for it to pay off.”

  4. You didn’t point out some of the more poignant lyrics:

    A part of me has just been ripped
    The pages from my mind are stripped
    Oh no, I can’t deny it
    Oh yea, I guess I gotta buy it!

    My blood runs cold
    My memory has just been sold
    My angel is the centerfold
    Angel is the centerfold

    That’s the first part of your point. The song’s narrator realizes that the girl he’s idealized in his head is really a girl who will do the nastiest, sluttiest things with men she’s really attracted to. She’ll put up a front and give a good show for her parents and her church. Behind closed doors she’s a sexual animal, but not for him. He realizes he’s been “sold” a bill of goods — this girl isn’t at all what she represented herself to be, nor what he thought she was.

  5. “It’s always been my contention that that’s false.”

    It certainly is mine. I’m adamant about marrying a virgin. You said it doesn’t mean that they wouldn’t prefer a virgin but they’re too hooked already. It reminds me of my last gf. We were together for a relatively short period of time, little over two months. I had no problem breaking it off. She still e-mails me on my birthday hoping for a reunion evidently.

    “Sluts can be the biggest prudes ever when they aren’t attracted to a guy, and their defensiveness over their slutty acts only adds to that. ”

    Try stating your view that women who are on birth control are sluts (an OBGYN once said there is a very narrow range of legitimate deficiencies that birth control is prescribed for; ergo, it’s basically all elective like abortion). Prepare for exploding heads a lá Scanners. It gets real, fast. Whether they’re just defending team woman or they themselves engaged in slutty acts is for each person to decide by said reaction.

    “So the lesson, guys: Your “homeroom angel” is really a devil, but that doesn’t mean she’ll be a devil for you.”

    Very solid reminder.

    ” I mean, knowing what hypergamy is great and all. But unless you also know about female attraction triggers, and the importance of attraction, and what turns women off, etc. , it won’t get you very far.”

    DG is on to something.

    From personal experience, just got burned by a really good looking girl who actually had a boyfriend the whole time she was flirting with me. Buyer beware. As deti said (though I’m not saying she presented herself as a whore), she put up a front.

Comments are closed.